8th Workshop

Program in PDF 



8th Workshop in Protein.DTU, 1 November 2012
Building 306, Lecture Hall 31


 08:30 -  09:00      Arrival & Breakfast

Chair: Birte Svensson (Professor, DTU Systems Biology)
 09:00 -  09:15     Welcome by Egon Bech Hansen (Head of Department, DTU Systems Biology)

                              Chair: Günther H.J. Peters (Associate Professor, DTU Chemistry)
09:15 -  09:45    Ingemar André (Assistant Professor, Department of Biochemistry and Structural Biology,
Lund University, Lund, Sweden)
                        Design and prediction of protein assembly structure

                                Chair: Peter M.H. Heegaard (Professor, DTU Vet)
09:45 – 10:15   Ruth Hüttenhain (PhD, Institute of Molecular Systems Biology, ETH, Zürich, Switzerland)
                        Targeted proteomics for the verification of cancer biomarkers in blood plasma 

                          Chair: Kristoffer Almdal (Professor, DTU Nanotech)
10:15 – 10:45 Lise Arleth (Professor, The Nanobioscience Group, Niels Bohr Institute,
University of Copenhagen)
                                Biomacromolecules investigated by small-angle neutron and X-ray scattering

10:45 – 11:15 Coffee Break

Chair: Eric Huusfeldt Larsen (Senior Researcher, DTU Food)
11:15 – 11:45 Jörg Bettmer (Ramón y Cajal Researcher, Department of Physical and Analytical Chemistry,
University of Oviedo, Spain)

                        Chasing metals in biological systems: (Elemental) mass spectrometry in
metalloprotein analysis

                        Chair: Flemming Jessen (Senior Scientist, DTU Food)
11:45 – 12:15             Henrik Clausen (Professor, Department of Cellular and Molecular Medicine,
University of Copenhagen)
                        Mining the O-glycoproteome using ZFN engineered human cell lines

 12:15 – 13:00 Lunch

                        Chairs: Kristoffer Almdal, Jenny Emnéus, Birte Svensson
13:00 – 14:30             Poster Session, coffee, drinks and cake

                         Chair: Maher Abou Hachem (Associate Professor, DTU Systems Biology)
14:30 – 15:00 Sarah Snogerup Linse (Professor, Department of Biochemistry and Structural Biology,
Lund University, Lund, Sweden)
                        Mechanism of amyloid-beta-42 aggregation and the role of inhibitors? 

                         Chair: Jenny Emnéus (Professor, DTU Nanotech)
15:00 – 15:30 Robert C. Ford (Professor, Faculty of Life Sciences, University of Manchester, UK)
        Three-dimensional structure of the ABC transporter involved in cystic fibrosis

Chair: Birte Svensson (Professor, DTU Systems Biology)
15:30 – 16:00 Kiyohiko Igarashi (Associate Professor, Forest Chemistry Laboratory, Department of Biomaterial
, University of Tokyo, Japan)
Single molecular observations of processive cellulases and chitinases for effective
degradation of crystalline structural polysaccharides

16:00 – 17:00 Closing and “time for a beer”