10th Workshop

Program in PDF



10th Workshop in Protein.DTU


 27 November 2013

Building 116, Lecture Hall 81  




08:30 - 09:00     Arrival & Breakfast                  


  Chair: Birte Svensson (Professor, DTU Systems Biology) 

 09:00 - 09:10 Henrik C. Wegener (Provost, Technical University of Denmark)



Chair: (Jenny Emnéus, Professor, DTU Nanotech)

 09:10 - 09:40    Luc Brunsveld (Professor, Chemical Biology, Department of Biochemical Engineering,

Eindhoven University of Technology,

Eindhoven, The Netherlands)

(Supra) molecular control over protein dimerization and assembly; from fluorescent proteins

to caspases and nuclear receptors    


Chair: Pernille Harris (Associate Professor, DTU Chemistry)

09:40 – 10:10    Anne Houdusse-Juille (Research Director at CNRS, Structural Motility Group, Institut Curie,

Paris, France) Allostery is at the heart of force production-Structural insights from myosin nanomotors    


Chair: Michael Engelbrecht Nielsen (Associate Professor, DTU Food)

10:10 – 10:40 Karola Schlinkmann (Research Associate, Plückthun Group, Department of Biochemistry,

University of Zurich, Switzerland)

Maximizing expression and detergent stability of a transmembrane G protein-coupled receptor

by exhaustive recombination and evolution


0:40 – 11:05      Coffee Break      


Chair: Christine Finnie (Associate Professor, DTU Systems Biology) 1

11:05 – 11:35    Kenji Maeda (Postdoctoral Fellow, Gavin Group, European Molecular Biology Laboratory,

Heidelberg, Germany)

        Interactome map uncovers phosphatidylserine transport by oxysterol-binding proteins


Chair: Birte Svensson (Professor, DTU Systems Biology)

11:35 – 12:15 Sir John Walker (Professor, FRS, FMed Sci, MRC Mitochondrial Biology Unit, Cambridge,
United Kingdom)

                        The mitochondrial proteome    


12:15 – 12:45    Lunch and poster viewing    


Chairs: Kristoffer Almdal, Jenny Emnéus, Peter Heegaard

12:45 – 13:30    Poster Session, coffee, drinks and cake  


Chair: Günther H.J. Peters (Associate Professor, DTU Chemistry)

13:30 – 14:00 Birte Höcker (Group Leader, Protein Design Group, Max Planck Institute for Developmental Biology,

Tübingen, Germany)

                        Design of protein structure and function  


Chair: Pernille Harris (Associate Professor, DTU Chemistry)

14:00 – 14:30 Richard Neutze (Professor, Department of Chemistry and Molecular Biology,

University of Gothenburg, Gothenburg, Sweden)

Serial femtosecond crystallography & time-resolved studies at X-ray free electron lasers


Chair:  Flemming Jessen (Senior Scientist, DTU Food)

14:30 – 15:00 Fredrik Levander (Senior Lecturer, Department of Immunotechnology, Lund University, Lund, Sweden)

                Turning the black box of quantitative proteomics grey  


15:00 – 15:20 Coffee Break


                        Chair:  Kristoffer Almdal (Professor, DTU Nanotech)

15:20 – 15:50    Matthias Rief (Professor, Department of Physics, Technical University of Munich,

Garching, Germany)

Single molecule mechanics of proteins


Chair: Maher Abou Hachem (Associate Professor, DTU Systems Biology)

15:50 – 16:20 Bernard Henrissat (Research Director at CNRS, Architecture et

Fonction des Macromolécules Biologiques,

Aix-Marseille University, Marseille, France)

Carbohydrate-active enzymes in the (meta)genomic era    


16:20 – 17:30    Closing and “time for a beer” and posters